Another .

I clocked more words typed
than spoken this week,
and I don’t understand
what’s happening to me
but it just doesn’t feel right.

I’m sorry if this
whole thing is an inconvenience,
but I just remembered how
on nights like this
we used to drink ourselves dry,
and we fall down on our knees
making empty promises
until the sun rise again.

And even though
you’ll never be my lover.
Only you could bring the heat,
a company undercover,
filling the space between my sheets.

And such empty driven lust,
such shared loneliness,
darling,
is the only viable distraction left
in my life.

But yet, you aren’t distracted by me.
I now understand that.

But if I may, let me just, one.
Give me one last kiss
for such distance will strike
between our lips
now the day is losing light,
give me another thrill,
even though
we will never be good enough,
we will never be more than nothing
just give me another nothing
‘cause nothing is all I have right now.

Un comentario en “Another .

  1. Me alegra volver a leerla, aunque por lo que puedo inferir, las circunstancias en las que esto ha salido son de lo mas catárticas, y no demasiado felices. Muy buenos textos han surgido en dichas circunstancias, y muchos de los peores. Este, a mi humilde parecer, se cuenta entre los primeros. Ojala el tiempo lo permita, y se la pueda leer mas seguido. Una pequeña apreciación, sin embargo, porque no puedo conmigo mismo: Creo que el verbo “rise” en la segunda estrofa, debería estar conjugado en pasado simple, “rose”, por cuestiones contextuales. Entiendo que es poesía y que hay valores estéticos que priman sobre los gramaticales, pero me generó un leve ruido al leerlo, y creo que si voy a comentar, debe ser de la forma mas honesta posible. Saludos!

    Le gusta a 1 persona

Responder

